What I Want In A Health Web Page

2

This week we read about the Diffusion of Innovations theory which looks at how, why, and at what rate new ideas spread through cultures. So what influences the spread of new ideas? You have the innovation itself, communication channels, time, and a social system. The type of reception from the general public will determine whether the idea/innovation will be self-sustainable. So what makes for a “good” web design?

First of all, I like simplicity. Minimal, yet informative information is much easier for me to swallow than a huge block of text and links to a million different resources. I want to know what you have to offer me and why I should buy into it. If I want to know any further details, there should be contact information readily available on the website.

Here is an example from http://www.ideo.com/stories/a-cafeteria-designed-for-me/

Here is an example for a simplistic design from http://www.ideo.com/stories/a-cafeteria-designed-for-me/

I also need a lot of visuals and what I learned when exploring websites this week is that interactive scrolling or some sort of fluidity in the text is extremely appealing to the eye. There’s an ease and simplicity about scrolling down a page with visuals and important information that makes me WANT to continue reading.  This is similar to when iPhones first came out and you had the capability of swiping through your pages of apps on your phone. If the navigation system of page comes down to simply knowing how to scroll, I’m sold. Every Last Drop is a great example of this.

Lastly, I like the use of video. Every Last Drop embedded a video at the very end of the webpage (when you can no longer scroll any farther) for those interested in learning more about the cause. I love the design of this webpage because it’s approachable, user friendly, and fun to look at. Video helps make the idea you’re trying to convey even clearer. Sometimes reading even simplest of text can be confusing and it takes hearing the idea for the message to sink in.

So simplicity, contact information, navigation, visuals, and video are all things that need to be nailed in web design in order to have me (and the general public) sold.

2 thoughts on “What I Want In A Health Web Page

  1. Hi Jessica,

    I appreciate the theme of your post – simplicity, which is shown from the photo and the video you picked. I completely agree with you. Oftentimes, we come across some very complex and busy websites, where they seem to be showing something or sending a message. However, their complicated designs bury the pure message (the very reason why they had started the website in the fist place).

    In public health practice, sending a clear message in a simple way to our target populations is perhaps the most important first step in terms of reaching out to them. The target audience needs to know what exactly the public health practitioners are campaigning about. They will then make the decision themselves whether or not to participate. If the message is somehow lost in the process, the target population might not be able to make the best decision for themselves. Going back to the point, simplicity is very important for website design not to bury the core message.

    Clipper

  2. Hi Jessica,
    I enjoyed reading your post, it was clear and to the point. As I was reviewing health websites this week I also noticed that a lot of them has Privacy Policy and Copyright information in the lower part or end of the page. As you were mentioning about scrolling down at the end of the page I think this is why many websites have this information in this location. If your website is tracking user information it would be important to get familiar with privacy policy and copyright laws to be on the safe side. Here is a link on how to write a website privacy policy http://www.opentracker.net/article/how-write-website-privacy-policy

Leave a Reply

