An OOMPH Poll: How did you use new media before this week?

Photo by Tom Waterhouse

This week we’ve done quite a bit of exploration, from YouTube to Instagram to Pinterest to Vimeo to Flickr to Periscope. I realized that I was really interested in how my OOMPH peers were using some of these sites before learning about them.

I created the poll questions below using the WordPress “Add Poll”feature (powered by Polldaddy). I’m so interested to hear about what and how we all used new media tools before the overview of this week.

If you have any additional feedback, I’d love to hear in the comments!

14 thoughts on “An OOMPH Poll: How did you use new media before this week?

  1. Kristina,

    Nice use of the polling questions … it provided a nice way to engage your audience, at least it did for me. I was surprised to see the results populate after I submitted my response. Interestingly, it appeared as though most fall under the bell shaped curve. I wonder if you had any preconceived notions of how the results would look prior to designing the questions. In addition to wether you use the tool or not, it may have been useful to find out why or how we are using the tool. News is probably the most common answer although it would be interesting to find out. I recently came across an article at Pew Research Center ( http://www.pewresearch.org/fact-tank/2014/09/24/how-social-media-is-reshaping-news/) that showed Facebook, YouTube and LinkedIn came in 1, 2 and 3 in terms of sources for news.

    Thanks for the great read.

    • Thanks, Mark! For this survey I focused on the platforms we learned about in Week 4, but I agree – it may be interesting to expand to include Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn. I didn’t have any notions at all so I’m interested in the results!

  2. This is a great poll! I hope more people come across it — you should think about emailing out the link to the whole class. I’m also interested if you had any predictions before setting the poll out. I don’t use social media at all, but being from the bay area, I’m surrounded by people who are always using the latest and greatest media, so I’m surprised that there aren’t more people in this class using most of these. We’re all a lot more alike than I thought!

    • Thanks Amanda! I took your suggestion yesterday. I had 0 predictions before sending out but I’m really interested in what’s coming in.

  3. Kristina, great poll! I enjoyed answering the questions! Very creative way of engaging the class in how they use or have used social media prior to this week. I agree with the comment above, you should email it to the entire class and share your results. I was surprised to see that I was not the only one that has not heard of or used Periscope. Thank you 🙂

  4. This was a very interesting idea for a post! I was also interested in what the class has used in social media. I would be interested to see if the Pew research article that Facebook (if you had it on here) is the most common platform but others are up and coming would match up!

    • Melissa – great point about Facebook – I focused on the Week 4 platforms but it would be interesting to see about FB and LinkedIn too. Maybe another survey!

  5. Hi Kristina,

    What a great idea to create a poll for our class! I was actually very curious myself to find out how many people have used some of these social media tools before this class. I’m not surprised that many people use YouTube frequently but as for some of the others (Flickr, Vimeo, Pinterest and Periscope) I’m not surprised that the numbers dropped in terms of popularity. In some cases, I felt like my response didn’t fall specifically into any of the response categories. For example, I don’t have a Vimeo account but I have seen a few videos on Vimeo because people I know use it and have sent me me a link to watch videos. Anyways I answered as accurately as I could. An interesting follow-up poll would be to ask people what they use these various social media tools for (i.e. mostly personal use, work, education etc.). Once again I think it’s great that you took the initiative on creating a poll on this topic, I hope you get more responses!

    • Shannon – great points about the survey structure. I probably should have built with more rigor but the Poll Daddy platform wasn’t super robust. I also focused on the Week 4 platforms rather than including others. Maybe another survey would be good after the whole class!

  6. Hi, Kristina. Thanks for emailing and prompting us to take the poll. I read your blog last week, but was in a hurry and didn’t think I had time to answer the questions. It actually took less than a minute. So, I’d encourage other readers to have a go to. The findings are quite interesting. Funnily enough, I expected there to be more widespread adoption of all these various social media platforms, because compared to most people I know, I’m really not very active on social media. I often receive invitations or emails with links to various Flickr, instagram or Pinterest pages. I just usually haven’t bothered to follow up on them – mainly because you usually have to create an account and I couldn’t be bothered. However, in the live session on Sunday night, Darcy made a really good point about participation. She said that if she expected to stimulate debate and/or get people to participate in the discussion, she needed to put herself out there authentically, as herself. That was a sobering lesson for me. I champion participation by community members, but hide myself behind my organisational logo. As individuals, they have nowhere to hide and have already put so much stuff out there that we can learn from to further public health goals. This last week, including your poll, have made me rethink my approach to engaging with various social media platforms. Now all I need is a personal assistant to see to all my other work and personal chores, so I can spend the entire week engaging with people on social media!

  7. Kristina, this was a great post. Polls are a great way to interact with your audience. It was really interesting to see how many of us are at least casual users of these different mediums. It’s crazy to think how pervasive they are in all of our lives, especially given the fact that they didn’t exist 10 years ago. I know that you were just including all the different visual media from this week, my only suggestion would be to include fewer polls next time to maximize impact.

  8. I really like the poll since it is definitely a fresh and new idea. It keeps me occupied and engaged at all times. I was happy with the results of the poll since my choice always fell on the biggest group. All of the voters had never used or heard Periscope. I thought I was the only one since I did not pay too much attention to mass media before I took this class. Thank you for a great post.

  9. Agree with all the above comments that this was a great idea, well executed, and very interesting results. I also thought I was pretty behind on social media but turns out I’m pretty on par. Since I don’t have too much else to add, the one suggestion (question, really) I had was if it was possible to combine all the questions into one quiz and submit at the end–that would be slightly more user friendly. You alluded to the fact that Polldaddy wasn’t super robust, so maybe its not possible, but would be a bit cleaner. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

