#Ebola – How Twitter has Revolutionized the Spread of Health News

Untitled Infographic

Microblogging, which in itself was the next generation of blogging, has been dominated by Twitter. Limited to 140 characters with the ability to include links, pictures, and media, Twitter has paved the way for news to be shared in a super fast, super easy way unlike ever before. The infographic above shows one prime example of how Twitter was and is still used to share information on the Ebola epidemic in Africa.

(Note: this is my first infographic, or really any type of graphic whatsoever! I’ve never put anything together like this before, so I hope you like it)

12 thoughts on “#Ebola – How Twitter has Revolutionized the Spread of Health News

  1. Wow!!! Amanda, I love the infographic you shared in your blog. What a great snapshot of information…not only does it include all the statistics about the disease itself but it also includes stats on how Twitter was used to share relevant information during the ebola crisis and how it was used to promote prevention efforts. I found a really interesting article on CNBC about how Twitter saved lives by spreading the news about an upcoming outbreak in Nigeria. It’s so awesome to see how Twitter can be used as a viable tool to disseminate public health messages, even in developing countries. Check it out: http://www.cnbc.com/2015/06/05/twitter-gave-nigeria-an-early-ebola-warning.html

    • Thanks, Shannon! I actually did see that article! I didn’t want to overload the infographic with too much information, so I picked out a few facts from a ton of different articles I read. I have to say, when Twitter first started, I thought it was just a way to perpetuate narcissism. It was the revolution in Egypt that showed me for the first time what a great tool Twitter can be. I originally wanted to make an infographic about the middle east revolutions, but then decided to pick a topic closer to public health :]

  2. Amanda, what a great infographic for someone who hasn’t made one before! I liked the dark background to contrast with the tweets, and showing the epidemic against the social media footprint.

    My feedback has to do with our challenge with this class – I think you need to show the content as well as the process. How did you find making the infographic? Was Piktochart easy to use?

  3. Hi Kristina, thanks for the compliment! I found piktochart because Rachel (@rhllwy) mentioned it in the post she made using it (Here’s her post: https://ihealthcomms.wordpress.com/2015/07/11/using-infographics-as-tools-for-communication/). I wanted to try making one myself, so I did it for last week’s assignment. I REALLY like the website – it’s super easy to use. They have a great little tutorial when you sign up for an account, and a ton of free resources. I used a lot of their templates and graphics, but eventually I hope I can make these types of images from scratch.

    I was debating including the process I went through, so I definitely appreciate the advice. I will be doing that for my next post.

    • I’m so glad that you love using Piktochart as much as I do! I still think infographics are some of the most efficient and eye-catching ways to convey information and this one is no exception. Awesome first infographic! While I agree with Christina, that the background contrasts with the tweets, I think the background is actually a little too dark. It makes the information a little harder to read, and it can make it difficult to print or share. I think it’s also worth mentioning that Twitter can, unfortunately, be used to convey inaccurate information or create unnecessary panic – both of which happened in Ebola.

      • Good point, Rachel. That’s the downfall with this media growth — while it’s easier to share information, there’s also a lot more false information out there. I mentioned the twitter handles above because they aree official sources (rather than just ordinary people), where you can go to get up-to-date information. I think if I was living in that area, I would definitely use Twitter to track the progress.

        Also, I’m really glad you introduced me to Piktochart. I think it’s an amazing website, especially for someone like me with no graphic design or picture editing experience.

  4. Amanda! This was awesome–I loved both the content and the medium. I liked how you separated the types of information into different compartments in the infographic; it was really clear and easy to read. I am not familiar with Piktochart, so I’m not sure how much control you have over the design, but it looks great and its great to hear that it was easy to use.

    I wonder if it would make more sense in the context of this blog to write an introduction to the idea of infographics or Piktochart first, and then demonstrate the one you made. The reason being that when I first saw your post I actually scrolled down to get some context before going through the infographic–I wasn’t sure whether or not you had made it yourself, and it just seemed a little abrupt to start the post with it.

    Also, I wonder how much infographics are used in blog posts (I really don’t know), but they are certainly powerful on facebook and twitter as you scroll through. Anyway, excellent work, and I’ll be trying to use an infographic this week!

    • Maia!! I agree, I should have introduced the infographic at the beginning instead of at the end. I don’t think they’re used all that often in health blogs, but I see them a LOT in other types of blogs. There are a crazy amount of health infographics out there though, so I hope we start seeing them more. Thanks for the feedback!

  5. With this being your first infographic, I think you did an Awesome job! Very informative, lots of color and great pictures!
    I’m not sure if the links were supposed to direct us somewhere, I clicked on them and they did not. I think it would have been great if the links would have led us to an informative page where more information would be given if we wanted to learn more about that subject.
    Overall, I thought this was a great post! 🙂

    • Hi Patricia. I actually have no idea how to set up live links in an infographic, but that would be a sweet feature to have! I’m going to look into it right now

Leave a Reply

