The dog that literally ate my homework..

IMG_0006

A key component of creating a successful blog health related or otherwise, is the investment of the audience in your story.

In creating a blog about how to raise a golden retriever filled with facts and information that could help someone with raising their new puppy, and how to train yourself to train your dog. Sounds like a great idea.. but what sets this apart from all the other websites that are doing the same thing?

Personal stories help establish an emotional connection to the reader that will encourage them to read and follow your blog.

Instead of a general blog about raising a golden retriever, I will make my blog about my own dog Kylie and my experience in raising her and all the highs and lows that go along with it. I could write facts about how young goldens will chew up anything they can get their teeth on and worn the reader to puppy-proof their house. This is necessary information for anyone bringing home a new puppy, but this message doesn’t make much of an impact. I can make it personal about how when Kylie was young, she literally chewed a hole in my wall, shredded the wood on my deck and benches, and even tore up a very expensive textbook, giving me a whole new perspective on the phrase “the dog ate my homework”. Adding my own personal stories and flavor will hopefully allow the readers to connect to me on an emotional level and continue to want to read what I have to say.

Many successful blogs combine their personal stories with information, such as a fitness and cooking blog after battling an eating disorder (http://fitfoodiefinds.com and http://ohsheglows.com), or a fitness blog from a health at every size perspective (https://danceswithfat.wordpress.com). Adding in the personal stories allows the reader to feel connected to the author along with learning a new recipe or new exercise routine. The emotional link with the readers will make your message and information more long lasting, and hopefully have a deeper impact.

As Maya Angelou said,

“I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.”

Have an impact that your reader will not forget by establishing this emotional connection.

A successful blog allows readers to not only learn, but connect over shared experiences and develop an emotional connection to the stories and author. They are invested in the story, and can learn in the process. 

So let me ask you the question- would you want to read about the simple facts on how to raise a golden retriever or get that information and also hear about Kylie’s daily antics and the latest expensive item that she has destroyed (a pair of Oakley sunglasses if you’re actually curious)? I guess I will leave that up to you.

3 thoughts on “The dog that literally ate my homework..

  1. Love the picture! I’m not a dog owner myself, but my 10 year old has been asking for a puppy for a long time. Now I’m curious to read about Kylie’s daily activities and what it’s like, on a personal level, to have a golden retriever at home. I agree with your quote from Maya Angelou, and I’m looking forward to reading/learning more about your experiences with Kylie.

  2. Melissa,

    Hilarious! I love dogs and while I am not an owner now, I recalled all the nice moments which I had as a kid with a fantastic Pointer Azor. Thank you for this. I believe that it is important to establish an emotional connection with your readers in order to make people remember you and your opinion. I can asure you that I will never forget Kylie 🙂 looking forward to hear more! And thanks for the new saying which I added to my vocabulary: The dog ate my homework!!!

  3. Melissa,

    Good point about the emotional aspect of the story and connecting with your audience! I remember we talked about this in our innovation sessions as well- people get more invested in issues/blogs/whatever when there is an emotional connection to it. It helps to create a much more solid memory too- I don’t think I’ll forget about your golden who ate a textbook 😉

Leave a Reply

