Easy Guide to Creating a Website

Screen Shot 2014-08-13 at 11.30.15 PM

This week, the challenge was to create a prototype for a website. Yes, creating a website is actually easy. As a novice website creator with practically no experience, this is my attempt to breakdown the steps to get your website up and running in no time.

1. Choose a title.

The title for your website will need to capture the essence of your project. The shorter the phrase, the easier it is for people to remember. The task for this week was to create a site to encourage and provide support for public health professionals utilize digital communication tools. I have chosen “HealthSpeak”, which is also the phrase I used for my web address. This served as the guide for the overall feel of the website.

2. Pick a website creation tool.

I have chosen Weebly for this week’s project. I find that Weebly is perfect for beginners, as it requires little to no training by using sample layouts, yet it allows for flexibility in changing certain aspects of the layout. It contains its own built-in collection of themes and photographs that you can use for your website. It also has pre-made fill-ins, so all you have to do is drag the content (such as contact dropdown menu, photo box, buttons, or text boxes) to your webpage.

Screen Shot 2014-08-14 at 10.37.52 AM

3. Select photos.

There is an endless collection of photos you can use online and through the Weebly site. Even if you’ve never had formal training in photography and design, you can try to pick out photos that match the mood and color scheme that you choose.

Screen Shot 2014-08-12 at 9.03.17 PMScreen Shot 2014-08-12 at 8.57.09 PM

4. Create content.

This will be the most dynamic and probably the most important part of the website, the construction work that will always be in progress. Hake sure that the home page gives you an idea of what the website is about. Create a contact page so people can join or make suggestions. Create a simple blog so people can start navigating through the website. This is the blog page on the Weebly application. I decided to use the fountain pen and ink photo to match the vintage theme.

Screen Shot 2014-08-14 at 11.02.55 AM

5. Launch your website.

As you prepare to publish your website, you may want to consider a trial launch with your family and friends. I got thumbs-up’s from my mom and my husband. Surrounding yourself with people that make you feel like you are on the right track is always encouraging. This can prepare you for the constructive criticism that will follow.

Here is my website prototype. Enjoy and good luck on your website creation! http://healthspeak.weebly.com/

Screen Shot 2014-08-14 at 10.37.36 AM

5 thoughts on “Easy Guide to Creating a Website

  1. Marie, this is great. Very visually appealing, easy to follow and full of great tips. I especially like that you tested it out with your mom and husband! And I love your comment ” Surrounding yourself with people that make you feel like you are on the right track is always encouraging.” This is almost an exact paraphrase of something I told my 3 children while they were growing up!

  2. Great one Marie and very helpful too! You make it sound so easy and fun to make a website, with all these visuals! And I actually had fun doing this week’s website assignment:)

  3. I agree weebly is good for beginning. I choose weebly. I had fun putting the website prototype assignment together.

  4. I liked the way you outlined everything. I personally didnt get into weebly but I definitely agree with the components in your post. Great job compiling everything. Did you get to explore any other platforms?

  5. Awesome Marie – you really do make it look just that easy! I particularly appreciate the trial launch. I can be so impetuous with my desire to get my “pretty” “shiny” new toy out to the public that I ignore this step. The only thing I’d augment that tip with is: if you ask for feedback, be prepared to get feedback 🙂

Leave a Reply

