If only this could still be true…

2

I took this from mGive’s webinar on “5 tips to successfully launch your mobile initiative”.  mGive is a company in Denver that is devoted to helping people use mobile technology to fund raise.  Well, that’s what I concluded after listening to their webinar.  Their mission statement is “Power social good”, they have a pledge (“do the right thing”), and a motto (“own it”).  I don’t know about the rest of you, but I’d give a day’s wages to have been present as this company came up with their mission statement.  My guess is I am not the only person who has spent the better part of 2 days in a room full of colleagues coming to consensus (concession?) on a mission statement.  Never has one been as short as mGive’s mission statement.  I am absolutely greeeeennnn with envy (really).

They shared a couple statistics that are worth considering carefully:  people keep their mobile numbers a long time (5-8 yrs or more) and there is a 98% “open rate” for texts (I am part of the 2%).  I have  feeling the more we use texts to fundraising or advertising, that 98% open rate is going to plummet. But their tips for using texts to fund raise are good ones:

Figure 6 for wk 5 post

These might seem obvious, but aren’t we all repeatedly astounded that these several of these 5 tips are overlooked, time and again?  We’ve learned some already about SMART goals (my company requires them from me every year; specific, measurable, achievable, relevant, and time-bound), but how often do we start down some novel solution path only to be squashed because we skipped step 1?  I’ve done that enough times that I no longer make that mistake.

From a non-profit perspective that is intent on fundraising, I thought this figure mGive presented was a good reminder that text messaging is part of the overall fundraising tool box.

Figure 3 for Wk 5 post

And what I’ve learned, or perhaps accepted, rather, is that isn’t going to change any time soon.  I am going to have to pull my head out of the sand.  And maybe buy a nicer color suit.

2 thoughts on “If only this could still be true…

  1. Haha Renee, nice post and I can totally relate to the image on the top. I agree with mGive’s goals that measuring and analyzing the impact is important for figuring out if the campaign is working and the return on investment should be taken into consideration.

Leave a Reply

