Texting Power

I found this week to be the most uncomfortable of all weeks.

I do not like the idea at all of giving out my cell phone number. Maybe that is a ridiculous concern that is old and irrelevant. 

 In exploration I found an amazing stat. The stat said that 90% of all text messages are read within 3 minutes! On average I think this is a little on the long side even for an anti-social media person for me. But nevertheless, we are tied to our phones and are trained like Pavlov’s dogs to reach for our phone every time we hear a ping. Text messages have really become a main source of communication.

spam

But what if my text messages become like my email, overrun by spam. Would I still use it? I think that is a big danger and I am not sure how we avoid it eventually happening. I feel as though there are people working right now to break in to spamming texts! I have received a handful already.

The younger generation is even more dependent on text messages. Look at this stat I found.

kids text more than we do

If you want to reach youth, text is the way to go. I am thinking of one way this could be used for good. We have an adolescent health van and text messages are likely the best way to let youths know we are there for them. And also to allow them to make and check appointments. Historically adolescent medicine has had high no show rates, and a substantial amount of difficulty making them comfortable to seek help. Text could help…if we had someone that could sit there and respond to the texts for teens. 

This is just a senseless pic I’ve added…

cat punctuation

4 thoughts on “Texting Power

  1. Great points here, Kiyomi. I have that same dreadful feeling that my texts are going to become what my email account is. I only give out my work cell phone number on any forms I fill out because of exactly what you mentioned above. But there are some good uses for texts that I use: doc appointment, flights, prescription notifications…

  2. Awww I think spam musubis are amazing! hawaii ni sunderu hito wa spam no omusubi daisuki nano naa~~~*

    I agree with you on the serious parts of the post, though! I am very hesitant to give out my phone number — I hate putting it out there. I, too, am pretty shocked that the average text is read in a “long” 3 minutes, but maybe that’s an average that also includes when people are sleeping so they don’t check the message til the morning?

    As the person who paid (and continues to pay!) the cell phone bill for my much younger sister, I think the 1700 text messages/month is believable. When she was in high school, she would occasionally have months where her texts exceeded 3000/month, and I was like that’s… more than 4 texts per hour EVERY hour, so if we accounted for her being asleep for 8 hours a day, that’s at least 6 text messages per hour = 1 every 10 minutes?! How in the world can anyone be productive if they are constantly attached to their phones (for leisure)?

  3. While I can completely see that a teenager can see 1700 texts a month, I am still not sure that it is a viable way to get important information through to them. If I were reading 1700 of anything a month, I certainly would not be retaining any of the content in my brain for longer than a minute or so! 🙂

Leave a Reply

