My Best of YouTube and Vimeo This Week

VimeoYouTube3-454x170

The multi-media sharing sites that I engaged with for this assignment were YouTube and Vimeo. In this post, I will share my “best of” lists from my explorations this week.

YouTube has always seemed a bit chaotic to me, with a constant flood of video offerings featuring the good, the bad, the ugly and he simply mediocre. The videos range from informative and well-produced to inane and unpolished. The comment streams are sometimes interesting but mostly not; all opinions are allowed, even those of so-called “trolls” whose purpose may be to simply provoke anger, disgust and revulsion. Nevertheless, I have posted videos to YouTube (making sure to check the privacy settings) that I want to share with friends, relatives and colleagues. I have also wasted plenty of time on YouTube, as I have on other multi-media sites, searching for bits that I missed on Jimmy Fallon the night before, performances of music that I  like, or various popular videos of babies or animals (yes, I admit it!). But I have also appreciated the ability to search for content on YouTube that is meaningful for public health work. And, like all things Google, there is no cost to post, view or comment on videos on YouTube.

Here are: My Top 4 YouTube Channels for Public Health Information and Advocacy (this week):

  1. Public Health Law and Policy
  2. ChangeLab Solutions
  3. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
  4. Kaiser Family Foundation

Vimeo is a new discovery, introduced to me by this course. What I have noticed immediately is that the videos appear to be, in general, of much higher quality than many of those on YouTube. There are also many fewer videos, followers or comments. Unlike YouTube, Vimeo offers different levels of membership: the most basic is free, the “plus” membership offers additional benefits for around $60/year, and the “pro” version offers even more ways to “professionalize” videos at around $200/year. I have enjoyed learning how to create videos using I-movie and posting them to Vimeo. Compared to YouTube, there are many fewer videos, followers or comments, making it more challenging to find a wide variety of sites that consistently post videos of importance to public health. Nonetheless, it is possible to find some gems: channels that may contain only a few videos, but those few are unique and may even inspire action to improve community public health!

Here are: My Top 3 Inspiring Public Health Channels on Vimeo (this week-  a brief description is provided as these may be less well-known than the YouTube Channels):

  1. The Men Who Made Us Fat – a series of videos examining the effects of the food industry’s practices on obesity.
  2. Walking a Lifestyle – documentary about the positive effects of walking on lifestyle.
  3. REACH Su Comunidad Digital Stories – stories of 10 U.S. communities addressing health equity in healthy food access and physical activity opportunities for Hispanic/Latino populations.

Who wins – Vimeo or YouTube? I suggest that it is a draw, because the choice really comes down to the needs of a particular individual or group. YouTube can get broader exposure to a large audience, while Vimeo offers a more polished, professional look to a smaller, targeted audience.

2 thoughts on “My Best of YouTube and Vimeo This Week

  1. I’m also a Jimmy Fallon fan, as well as Kaiser Family Foundation! Both have videos that are on point (for different reasons). Prior to this class I was unfamiliar with Vimeo but, like you, enjoy the smaller crowd and more refined, higher quality videos.

  2. Love the videos!!!. Youtube has a larger audience. Some of the contents are junk but has its benefits. Vimeo has its loyal fans and relatively more credible information. I agree, it is a draw. For a public health practice, both of them are wonderful resources to disseminate the idea or cause or initiative.

Leave a Reply

