Dear Pinterest, I love you even more now!

 

Oh pinterest, how I love thee, let me count the way…

Screen shot 2014-08-01 at 4.31.01 PM If I could cover all of  kitchen walls with cork board and thumb tack  tasty new recipes, inspiring saying, and funny cat pictures, I totally would! However, who needs the mess or fire hazard, when the digital bulletin board of pinterest exists. I have been a dedicated pinner for several months now. I check in on the site almost daily, and love to browse  all the new and interesting pins. My life is better because of pinterest!  I’ve  learned many wonderful life hacks, cooked up several delightful new meals, gotten inspired to start  DIY home projects, and have learned how to better organize my closet…simply amazing. BUT WAIT: Pinterest does more than just that?! WHY YES IT DOES: Its like I’m seeing it in a whole new light. I was doubted how pinterest could improve public health communication.

After listening and absorbing the Social Media Examiner podcast, I was sorry that I doubted pinterest’s abilities. After all, it has never led me astray before.

As humans, we are hardwired to react to images faster and stronger than we react to words. According to Donna Moritz social media and visual marketing expert as she appeared on the Social Media Examiner Podcast, “Images process quickly and people are drawn to them”.  We have heard the contrite phase: “A picture is worth a thousand words” a million times before, but there is such truth to it.  Images have the ability to touch us deeper than words can.

Now that I’m a believer in pinterest for public health, below are my tips for engagement:

  1. Draw the reader in with interesting and captivating images

  2. Use graphic media tools/ apps to create templates to make life easier,  user friendly examples of such apps are: picmonkey: image editing tool & template design  and  canva: makes graphic design accessible to all

  3. Design a template for posting photos, which allows you to come out with a new pin on a frequent basis

  4. Be consistent and post images regularly to keep your audience interested

  5.  Know your audience: design your work for them

  6. Embrace the infographic:  These are the super long pins we see with all the graphics. They use images to explain a piece of information.  This is huge on pinterest, and I personally find them so interesting and informative. Piktochart  is a good place to start creating these.

Screen shot 2014-08-01 at 4.27.17 PM

Good luck and happy pinning! 

Links for the three photo site are embedded for further exploration.

11 thoughts on “Dear Pinterest, I love you even more now!

  1. Right on! I adore infographics. I always enjoy seeing them in my Twitter feed, and now that I finally “get” Pinterest, I understand that it’s a treasure trove. Thanks for the resource on how to create them yourself! Do you have a link for that?

  2. I wish I could share your love of it…Pinterest just aggravates me. But I do see your point on the visuals — I think Pinterest works really well as a place to store ideas for yourself (be it clothes, vacation ideas, or even health information) but I think it is potentially a dangerous place. There is no filter on accuracy (hello First Amendment) and this could spell trouble for the unwitting parent trying to learn about something and getting blasted with a bunch of ballyhoo. But, your post — the glee!– makes me want to double check it as a tool for personal organization!

    • Hi Amanda,
      Taking off my rose colored glasses for a second, I see your point. There are indeed, no checks and balances on pinterest, and any moron can post up a fallacy up on pinterest. I too have seen some inaccurate health/ fitness posts, which annoy me. I wish there was a better way to screen or flag some of the information that goes up.

  3. What were your experiences with picmonkey and canva? I’m excited to check them out. After listening to that podcast I got inspired to experiment with Piktochart and blogged about it this week… it’s awesome! I had no idea such cool and intuitive software was freely available.

  4. Kirstie, You did a great job of keeping my interest in Pinterest. Like you, I also found that Pinterest has many awesome posters that are super relevant for public health. I just wish I had read your post before posting mine. Oh well, there is always next week.

Leave a Reply

