3 Challenges of a Twitter Newbie

This week I finally joined Twitter. There is always resistance to new things, especially if you are taken out of your comfort zone. Joining Twitter was no different for me. I had a few challenges that I needed to overcome so I can move on to discovering how wonderful the world of Tweeting can be. Here are 3 of them:

Screen Shot 2014-07-27 at 5.01.06 PM

1.  140 characters. This goes back to the time when you get charged for every text message sent, and you have to make sure that your whole message fits in one text. It encourages short cuts, or text lingo. R U THRE? RUNNING L8. C U SOON. I don’t know if I can live with that. I like my words and sentences complete. However, there is a good side to this limitation. People are encouraged to be concise, direct, and interesting. If you can’t say it in a few words, people lose interest. People like reading the headlines, and then decide if they want to read the whole article.

Screen Shot 2014-07-27 at 4.39.06 PM

2.  Learning new jargon. There is a difference between retweeting and replying to a tweet. It sounds pretty basic but it was sure confusing to me as a Twitter newbie. It took me a while to realize that there was a difference between @me and #me. It’s not difficult, just another thing to get used to. #justsayin

Screen Shot 2014-07-27 at 5.04.41 PM

3.  Who to follow. When you sign up, you are asked to follow a few individuals, groups, or sites that you know nothing about. I have family and friends on my list of people to follow. Unfortunately they are not active “tweeters” or “twitterers”. Creating a solid list of people to follow will happen over time. As you discover the type of posts that you are interested in, you can always cut or add to your list.

 

2 thoughts on “3 Challenges of a Twitter Newbie

  1. I had the same challenges, Marie. I was pleasantly surprised that the tweets all seem to make sense – even despite the 140 character limit. As you said, I think there is actually quite an appeal to the “headline” approach. My twitter feed is mostly from people I don’t know (mostly the comedians I followed), but it actually has made it more entertaining for me and not just a repeat of my Facebook newsfeed.

  2. Hi Marie. Good post…..short but sweet and very informative. I love your pictures. Just like you, I observed that people are using text messaging type of tweets like “R U THRE? RUNNING L8. C U SOON”. Probably it is just me that this type of lingo can ruin the young people’s ability on how to spell really well but this is just my opinion. Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

