My head hurts!

As a social media neophyte I began the week with a mixture of equal parts excitement and trepidation. Perhaps you remember our on campus experience? When Caricia was sorting the class based on social media experience Renee and I were always alone at the back and I was glad to see it was not only based on age since she is much younger than I am. I am going to keep an open mind but I am not convinced I will finish the course with an appreciation of the utility of this medium for everyone. However, here are the top three things I have learned so far:

1. Be Choosy

The biggest reason my head hurts is there is just too, too, too much stuff out there. I now realize how my son can stay on his computer all night long; it is so easy to get onto one blog and then get sucked into the next link and then the one after that. But, I still have a life when the laptop is off and really, who has the time? I will need to select narrow topics and stay focused.

2. Investigate the Opinionater

detective

It’s one thing to take at face value the cute kitten video but when someone is offering something that could be considered “factual” the source needs to be considered. I am not yet sure how the on-line “journalist” should be vetted; any suggestions are appreciated. At least legacy journalism requires some credentials and comes with some oversight.

3. Take Baby Steps

I suppose this one should be obvious but I wanted my post to be flashy and have video and linksbaby step to everything else but I’ll be happy if this just makes it to the blog intact. I am not a technophobe but when it comes to learning new gizmos I find the best approach is “let’s find out what this button does…click”. Very effective but it usually takes me longer and I spend a lot of time with the “undo” button. However, I am comforted knowing whatever team I end up on after graduation next year will be filled with millennials and I can be happy with my not-so-smart phone.

9 thoughts on “My head hurts!

  1. This is great, Randall. I love how many of us have opened our post with some kind of disclaimer that reflects how far we have come out of our comfort zone. Like you I started off wanting it to look really flashy and professional, but by the time I hit “Publish” and received the “congratulations” message, I was just proud that I had finally created my first ever blog post!

    • Thanks Rachel. It has struck me this week that even though the boomer generation may have been hooked on TV the millennials are even more willing to live vicariously though the experiences (real or imagined) of others.

      • I think I find it hard to differentiate between living vicariously through the experiences of others, and utilizing social media as a part of, or an asset to living. A friend of mine lost her brother very suddenly this week. I didn’t know him, or how close she and her family were to him. If I had just seen her face-to-face and she had told me that her brother had died I would only have very little insight into what that meant to her. But watching her Facebook feed this week and seeing all their posts has given so much more detailed an idea of that part of her life. It has made giving her the support she needs so much easier. I think us (older) generations tend to dismiss social media too readily without fully grasping that it can be a part of living, and not just a substitute.

  2. Hi Randall,
    I really enjoyed your post and I agree with you there is so much out there! I sometimes have a hard time really digesting the information and trying to decipher how much validity are in the blogs or buzzfeed people share on facebook. You have a point that “millennials” are on devices way more than the boomer generation but I wonder what was the trend of “media” between the boomers and the generation before between TV and radio?

    • I think they probably talked to each face-to-face. I was getting a haircut last week and the stylist told me about seeing a young couple on a date in a restaurant; for 1 1/2 hours they texted each other across the table.

  3. Hi Randall, I couldn’t agree with you more about how overwhelming this blogging world can be! You nailed it with your 3 steps. I especially like how you call out “investigate the opinionator” reminding us that in an age where information is not just written by “journalists”, it is important to be extra aware of what we’re reading and sharing.

  4. If I could figure out how to “like” your post, I would. I am not much younger than you, believe me. And I am still trying to figure out this blog thing. I am seeking tutorials tomorrow, I am that lost. You post is great!

  5. Randall,

    This is great! I took my first post a completely different route and took a more “personal” approach. After seeing your post, perhaps I should have been more technical? Not sure but at any rate, thanks for helping me broaden the blog approach by addressing some of the strategies for this course.

Leave a Reply

