Blogging A Behavioral Addiction?

4

Blogging A Behavioral Addiction……….

I have never been an avid blogger. Although I’ve read blogs, but have never followed them very enthusiastically. So I would rather call myself an occasional blog reader. However, I feel that reading about and looking into blogs this week might turn me into a blog enthusiast. This feeling made me look into an “addiction potential” for blogging!

DSC08553-B Behavioral addiction, also referred to as soft addiction, process addiction, or non-substance-related addiction, is a form of addiction not caused by the usage of drugs. Behavioral addiction consists of a compulsion to repeatedly engage in an action until it causes negative consequences to the person’s physical, mental, social, and/or financial well-being.Behavior persisting in spite of these consequences can be taken as a sign of addiction. The condition often referred to as “behavioral addiction” is not included in the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition(or DSM-5).

Let’s take a look at 5 important features of addiction, which can be called the;

ABCDEs of Addiction

  • Inability to consistently Abstain
  • Impairment in Behavioral control
  • Craving
  • Diminished recognition of significant problems with one’s behaviors and interpersonal relationships; and
  • A dysfunctional Emotional response.

image 1

If we look at these features one by one, they all seem to fit “blogging”. If a blogger can identify with these 5 features, s/he might have a potential for “blogging addiction”!

1-    Finds it difficult to consistently abstain from blogging. There might be awareness that it is creating havoc in the individual’s life, but the desire to blog would be way stronger than the pressure to stop.

2-    Impairment in behavioral control and continuing blogging despite the adverse consequences of this behavior, which could be affecting the personal or professional life of the individual.

3-    Intense craving for blogging that might lead to lying and denial in day-to-day life.

4-    Diminished recognition of significant problems arising due to blogging. It can be called denying the problems in your relationship, professional life, personality, sleeping habits etc. arising due to obsession with blogging and time spent doing that.

5-    Dysfunctional emotional response resulting in impulsiveness in posting blogs and waiting for responses and reacting to those responses.

If you can relate to these features and you can tell that it is impacting your every day life…BEWARE…you might be heading to be a blog addict!!!

guest-blogging

4 thoughts on “Blogging A Behavioral Addiction?

  1. Great post. Learned a lot about what constitutes an addiction and it was entertaining as well! I especially liked your thoughtful placement of images through the post. Though I don’t know any blogging addicts (or at least know that they are), I certainly know some Facebook addicts. I don’t think I am quite there, but maybe close…

  2. Fauzia,
    I simply love your post how you explained the ABCDEs of addiction in case of blogging which can be applied to any of other social media site addictions as well. Last week, my sister introduced me to instagram and this idea was funny to her that I don’t know how to use hashtags 😦 though, I am sure I will learn in time. It makes me wonder how fast these new social media sites are changing our ways to share information and how we perceive that new piece of information. I love the images and humor in your post :D.

  3. Haha, I know several people who might be diagnosed with blogging addiction. As for me, I could use a little more blogging addiction in my life.

Leave a Reply

