The Facebook Daily

the daily dog

For someone who juggles a demanding job, family life, and online schooling, I really should not have time to go on Facebook. But I do. I check posts when I am drinking my protein drink for breakfast, or when I am eating my sandwich for lunch. Most of the time, I don’t care about stuff on my news feed, but I must admit that this is my biggest source of news. Facebook newsfeed is raw, and is not created by professional journalists, but at least it does not disguise itself as unbiased news reporting. It’s very biased, personal, opinionated, and unique. “Oh, Agnes got married!” “Oh, there’s a fire on Lake Berryessa!” “What an ugly looking kid – I pray to God I don’t have a child that looks like that.”

Until this week, I did not know anything about blogging. I have never read a blog, or posted a blog. Or maybe I have, but I did not know it was called a “blog”. I called it an “article that I read online.” This week, I have come to the remarkable realization that blogging is probably the most powerful way of delivering news today. Now at last I don’t have to go through pages of political junk just to get to what I want to read. The only downside to it is you don’t get to read the comic strips and answer the crossword puzzle at the end.

8 thoughts on “The Facebook Daily

  1. I completely agree with you about not really knowing exactly what a blog was before this week! I also think that many organizations like to call things blogs that are really a collection of standard press-releases.

  2. I agree with you and Rachel! I realized this week that I had been reading a blog for the last few months, without realizing that it was a blog!!! Anyways, I go on Facebook many times in a day and that is my biggest source of “raw” news too. But now since I’ve started looking into blogs for this course, I have a feeling that I’ll be more into reading blogs than FB:)

  3. sometimes, i like to think that the statuses you’ve posted on FB, in conjunction with photos and other media you’ve shared via FB… in aggregate, would be a blog, right? you’ve probably been blogging all along, just not in the traditional sense 🙂

  4. I agree, Marie. I also spend too much time on FB given the small amount of “free” time I have. But it is a quick and easy way to get the news – and news that mostly feels “handpicked” for me.
    I also have very little experience with blogging and really had no idea there were so many blogs out there! I like that anyone can write a blog – but I think one has to also be careful because “anyone” can write a blog…

  5. Marie, I can completely relate to being a busy person who somehow spends an inordinate amount of time on Facebook!

  6. It seems like a lot of people agree with your sentiments and so do I. I’ve had to limit my facebook time because it really gets out of hand! Saying that, I think that it’s an incredibly powerful professional tool. So maybe all that time spent can have some positive impact on the world…

Leave a Reply

